e-Portfolio Log #8: Pre-Internship Goals

I am ecstatic to begin the pre-internship phase of my development. I look forward to getting hands on experience with the practices I have been exposed to so far through the education program and take in some new ideas from my coop and other teachers in the school. I realize that three weeks is a relatively short period of time. I will be looking to maximize my learning experience, I feel that this goal list will be keep me on task and efficiently working towards teaching mastery.

Durring my pre-internship I hope to…

  • Gain experience in a variety of settings (different classes, different student abilities, different types of students, and more). To be more specific I would like to make sure that I pick up a class dealing with  my minor at least, if possible it would be nice to teach something that I am a little less familiar with as well (eg. English, Biology). If I have the opportunity I would also like to work with students who are known to struggle or have behavioural problems.
  • I would like to find balance in my student-teacher relationships. I would like to develop relationships with the kids I will be teaching, however, at the same time I want to maintain a position of authority in the classroom.
  • I would like to become a more efficient lesson planner. I will likely be busy with several classes. Therefore, I will have to get better and faster at planning lesson plans. I would like to be able to write an efficient lesson plan in about 40 minutes by the time I have completed my pre-internship.
  • Assessment is still a concept that I am uncomfortable with. I would like to try various forms of assessment (at least 4). For example instead of worksheets and tests I might like to try a project based assessment.

Leave a comment